Division Sergeants Major

Command Sergeants Major of the 1st Cavalry Division

CSM Position Established July 1967

2BCT cases colors 18 Jan 2014 COL R F Whittle CSM J T McFarlane Jr

The position of Command Sergeant Major was not established until July 1967. Prior to that time the senior enlisted rank was Sergeant Major. While units were assigned a Sergeant Major, records often do not indicate the name of the Sergeant Major. The list attempts to identify the names of the senior enlisted Soldier of the 1st Cavalry Division. Dates from many of the sergeants major listed may be inaccurate and anyone that has documentation that can provide more accurate data should contact the 1st Cavalry Division Association.

Command Sergeants Major

CSM Chester R. Westervelt
July 1965 – June 1966

CSM Kenneth W. Cooper
June 1966 – July 1967

CSM William O. Marshall
July 1967 – May 1968

CSM Jack B. Moore
May 1968 – October 1968

CSM Vern O. Peters
October 1968 – April 1969

CSM Lawrence Kennedy
April 1969 – April 1970

CSM Kenneth W. Cooper
April 1970 – July 1970

Unknown (1st Brigade CSM) *
July 1970 – May 1971 (in Vietnam)

CSM Arnold E. Orr
May 1971 – January 1972 (Fort Hood)

CSM William Corn
January 1972 – July 1973

CSM Homer R. Moss
July 1973 – January 1975

CSM Walter W. Krueger
February 1975 – November 1977

CSM Douglas B. Hayes
November 1977 – February 1983

CSM Kenneth E. Parsons
February 1983 – July 1983

CSM Delbert O. Jennings
July 1983 – February 1985

CSM A. C. Cotton
February 1985 – November 1988

CSM Robert E. Wilson
November 1988 – February 1991

CSM Gilbert Paez
February 1991 – July 1992

CSM Charles M. Gee
July 1992 – November 1994

CSM Johnny D. Duncan
November 1994 – December 1995

CSM Dennis E. Webster
January 1996 – August 1998

Command Sergeants Major

CSM Paul M. Inman
August 1998 – April 2001

CSM John D. Sparks
June 2001 – February 2003

CSM Richard Hernandez
February 2003 – June 2004

CSM Gerald R. Schindler**
June 2004 – August 2004

CSM Neil L. Ciotola
August 2004 – October 2005

CSM Donald R. Sanders**
October 2005 – March 2006

CSM Philip F. Johndrow
March 2006 – April 2008

CSM Donald Felt**
April 2008 – June 2008

CSM Rory L. Malloy
June 2008 – April 2011

CSM Isaia T. Vimoto
April 2011 – July 2012

CSM James P. Norman, III
August 2012 – September 2013

CSM Andrew L. Barteky
November 2013 – November 2015

CSM Maurice Jackson
November 2015 – October 2015

CSM Shane E Pospisil
October 2017 – July 2019

CSM Thomas C. Kenny
August 2019 – April 2021

CSM Shade Munday
August 2021 – February 2023

CSM Levares J. Jackson
May 2023 – Present

*The death of CSM Cooper along with the death of MG Casey resulted in the appointment of the 1st Brigade CSM to fill the position until a replacement could be identified and assigned. This sergeant major’s name is unknown.

**Interim – Served in position pending the selection and assignment of a new Division Sergeant Major, received an evaluation report for time in position.

Highlights - CTA

Ghosts of Fallujah

Ghosts of Fallujah (written by Coley D. Tyler) is a first person account of the Second Battalion, Seventh Cavalry’s participation in the Second Battle of Fallujah, the largest single engagement of the Iraq War and the largest urban battle since Hue in 1968. A First Marine Division operation, it was spearheaded by one of the […]

Special Annoucements

Public Request for Division Assets (Band/Horse Cav Detachment/Honor Guard)

Need to request a Division asset: the Band, Horse CAV Detachment, or Honor Guard? Fill out the provided DD Form 2536 and email it to: SFC Kristin M. Chandler at usarmy.hood.1-cd.mbx.1cd-division-comrel@mail.mil.  If you have any questions about filling out the form call SFC Chandler at 254-288-2601. DD2536 Asset Request Form